The UK Government has released a list of eight sites deemed suitable for nuclear power stations by 2025.

The proposal is part of a series of national policy statements and comes three months after the Fukushima disaster in Japan and just weeks after Germany scrapped its plans for nuclear.

The sites are Bradwell, Essex; Hartlepool; Heysham, Lancashire; Hinkley Point, Somerset; Oldbury, Gloucestershire; Sellafield, Cumbria; Sizewell, Suffolk; and Wylfa, Anglesey.

Minster of Energy Charles Hendry said, “Around a quarter of the UK’s generating capacity is due to close by the end of this decade. We need to replace this with secure, low carbon, affordable energy.

“This will require over £100bn worth of investment in electricity generation alone. This means twice as much investment in energy infrastructure in this decade as was achieved in the last decade,” added Hendry.

The government’s final proposed energy national policy statements will be debated in Parliament.