China’s National Energy Administration will close about 10 million kilowatts of outdated coal-fuelled power capacity before October 2010, under an agreement signed with 26 provincial governments.

The administration will also close about 70 million kilowatts of small-scale, outdated thermal power station capacity in the Eleventh Five-Year Plan period from 2006 to 2010, according to Xinhua.

Under the plan, China will save 81 million tons of coal annually and eliminate 1.4 million tons of sulfur dioxide emissions and cut carbon dioxide emissions by 164 million tons.

Some 4.11 million kilowatts of outdated thermal power station capacity has been eliminated so far this year, according to the administration.

The 26 provinces, regions and municipalities include Jiangsu, Shandong, Guangdong, Henan, Hebei, Jilin, Sichuan, Fujian, Heilongjiang and Shaanxi.