The Indian government is reportedly planning to build ten nuclear power plants in ‘fleet mode’ in the country over the next three years.

Citing the Press Trust of India, NDTV reported that the nuclear power facility will be developed over a period of five years from the first pour of concrete (FPC).

The FPC is planned for next year at the 700MW Kaiga atomic power station, which is located in the Indian state of Karnataka.

Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) officials notified the Parliamentary panel on science and technology saying: “The FPC of Kaiga units V and VI is expected in 2023; FPC of Gorakhpur Haryana Anu Vidyut Praiyonjan units III and IV and Mahi Banswara Rajasthan Atomic Power Projects units I to IV is expected in 2024, and that of Chutka Madhya Pradesh Atomic Power Project units I and II in 2025.”

The FPC process marks the start of nuclear power reactor construction from the pre-project stage, comprising excavation activities at the nuclear facility site.

Procurement for these projects is understood to have begun, with orders being placed for SS 304L lattice tubes and plates for end shields, Incoloy 800 tubes for 40 steam generators, forgings for steam generators, reactor headers pressuriser and bleed condensers forgings.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

India currently operates a total of 22 nuclear reactors, with more than 6.7GW of combined capacity.

In 2017, the government gave approval to the Nuclear Power Corporation of India (NPCIL) to build ten units of locally-designed pressurised heavy water reactors (PHWR), each with 700MW of capacity.

The government approved all the nuclear power reactors at the same time, with the aim of reducing costs and construction time.

PHWRs use uranium as a fuel and heavy water as a moderator.

The approval was part of the government’s commitment to using clean power in India’s energy mix.