A coordinating committee, established as part of the Intergovernmental Agreement between Russia and Myanmar, has met for the first time to discuss nuclear collaboration between the two countries.  

The meetings, which took place on 27 and 28 June, covered a “regulatory framework for bilateral cooperation” between Russian nuclear company Rosatom and Myanmar.  

Rosatom deputy director general Nikolai Spassky met Myanmar’s Deputy Science and Technology Minister Aung Zeya. Following the meeting, the pair signed a protocol outlining the collaboration. 

The intergovernmental agreement between the two countries was first signed in February. Under this, the two countries agreed to work on the development of small nuclear power plants and the “peaceful use of atomic energy”. 

Spassky also held meetings with Minister of Science and Technology Myo Thein Kyaw and Minister of Electrification Taung Khan. According to Rosatom, these meetings focused on the “construction of power units based on Russian designs and the development of nuclear infrastructure” in Myanmar.  

During the meeting, a “pre-feasibility study report of the thermal power plant project conducted under the memorandum of understanding signed by the Ministry of Electric Power and Rosatom in November 2022 was presented by Rosatom to the Ministry of Electric Power,” according to Myanmar’s Ministry of Information

“In addition, a memorandum of understanding in the field of nuclear infrastructure assessment and enhancement was signed between the Ministry of Science and Technology and Rosatom.” 

The two countries have undertaken a number of bilateral cooperation events including the Yangon Science Festival currently being held in Myanmar’s largest city. The event is being jointly organised with Rosatom. 

Last month the UK Government announced that it would be sanctioning Rosatom as part of a series of sanctions following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. The US Government has also sanctioned Rosatom. France has come under scrutiny for its continued relationship with the nuclear company, including a joint declaration of research cooperation signed in 2021.